Biography Publications Events Press Blog Contact
tumblrFacebookTwitter
Twitter
Links
Blogroll
 

Ill Will

“Intensely readable . . . In this creepy yet fascinating work, with a bleak Ohio wintery landscape as backdrop, Chaon creates a world of tragedy, disease, and drug abuse right out of today’s news and makes it real while keeping readers guessing on many levels.”–Library Journal (starred review)

 

“For this exceptional and emotionally wrenching novel, Chaon plants the seeds of new manias into the hard, unforgiving ground that will be familiar to his readers… With impressive skill, across multiple narratives that twine, fracture, and rest, Chaon expertly realizes his singular vision of American Dread.” – Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

“A dark genre-bending thriller . . . Chaon has mastered multiple psychologically complex and often fearsome characters. A shadowy narrative that’s carried well by the author’s command and insight.”–Kirkus (starred review)

 

“Chaon has created another of those twilight realms of which he is an indisputable master. The book’s characters plumb the depths of deception and surpass all established measures of instability and dysfunction. . . . If the definition of eeriness is indeed ‘strange, suspicious, and unnatural,’ the definers of the genre (Edgar Allan Poe, Henry James, Shirley Jackson, Peter Straub, etc.) have a worthy heir in Dan Chaon.”–Booklist

 

Stay Awake

“With this arresting collection,  Chaon again demonstrates his mastery of the short story…Chaon brings readers fantastically close,  slowly drawing them into the anxiety or loneliness or remorse of his characters,  and building great anticipation for the twists to come.”  –Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The powerful writing in this intense and suspenseful collection draws us into the emotional maelstroms experienced by the characters.  A highly recommended work, not to be missed”  –Library Journal, starred review

 

Among the Missing

“Unforgettable . . . hums with life and wry humor . . . The stories sneak resolutely up
on you, like new weather that hits before you know it.”

—The New York Times Book Review

“One of those writers who possess an uncanny and seemingly otherwordly
understanding of the human condition . . . Chaon [is] a remarkable chronicler of a
very American kind of sadness, much in the tradition of Richard Yates, Raymond
Carver, and Denis Johnson. . . . These stories are to be savored.”

—San Francisco Chronicle

You Remind Me of Me

“Remarkable . . . weaves threads into a whole that is not only satisfying but
devastating.”

—Entertainment Weekly (Editor’s Choice)

“Extraordinary . . . renews my faith in the unique capacity of literature to help us
understand and ultimately respect ourselves and the strange, baffling, complex
figures we all can be.”

—Houston Chronicle

Await Your Reply

“Stunning . . . Chaon succeeds in both creating suspense and making it pay off, but
Await Your Reply also does something even better. Like the finest of his storytelling
heroes, Mr. Chaon manages to bridge the gap between literary and pulp fiction with
a clever, insinuating book equally satisfying to fans of either genre.”

—The New York Times

“A riveting thriller, chock-full of plot twists, and a sober meditation on the erosion of
identity in the age of technology . . . There’s a bristling momentum that develops, as
in any great tale of suspense. . . . [Chaon] writes with an eloquence rarely seen in the
world of page-turners.”

—Los Angeles Times Book Review